Reviews and Articles
  • Log in to Add Reviews, Videos, Etc
  • Places to Buy

    Searching for products...

    About This Item

    Unique ID Code: 0000080690
    Added by: DVD Reviewer
    Added on: 6/2/2006 14:20
    View Changes

    Class Of 1984 (US)

    5 / 10
    1 vote cast
    Rate this item
    Inline Image

    "We are the future!... and nothing can stop us."
    Certificate: none
    Running Time: 98 mins
    Retail Price: $19.98
    Release Date:

    Drug Dealing.
    Gang Beatings.

    They`re all part of a typical day for the students of Lincoln High. Into this academic abyss arrives Andy Norris (Slaughterhouse Five`s Perry King), an idealistic and naive music teacher who has moved into the community with his pregnant wife Diane. Appalled by the crime-infested school, Norris soon crosses sabers with its teenage kingpin, the shrewd and sadistic Peter Stegman (The White Shadow`s Timothy Van Patten). With Norris setting his sights on reforming Stegman, and the young miscreant declaring war on his teacher, the duo sets a fateful showdown into motion on the night of an important school orchestra performance.

    Directed and co-written by Mark L. Lester (Commando, Firestarter), Class of 1984 is one of the seminal cult movies of the early 1980s. While its vision of a decaying, violence-plagued inner city school seemed over-the-top in 1982, it sadly prophesized the future of American education. Lester`s film - which caused a stir at Cannes and reputedly offended one of its own screenwriters - is also notable for its cast, which includes Van Patten, Roddy McDowall and a very young Michael J. Fox. Alice Cooper performs the theme song, "I Am The Future". No longer are the students of Lincoln High the future, for the future has arrived!

    Special Features:
    Commentary with director Mark L. Lester
    Blood And Blackboards: An all-new featurette containing interviews with Director Mark L. Lester and Actors Perry King and Merrie Lynn Ross.
    Trailer and TV Spots

    Directed By:
    Mark L. Lester

    Written By:

    Michael J. Fox
    Stefan Arngrim
    Roddy McDowall
    Timothy Van Patten
    Merrie Lynn Ross
    Perry King

    Your Opinions and Comments

    Be the first to post a comment!