Reviews and Articles
  • Log in to Add Reviews, Videos, Etc
  • Places to Buy

    Searching for products...

    Item Images
    About This Item

    Unique ID Code: 0000151755
    Added by: Jitendar Canth
    Added on: 30/10/2012 18:18
    View Changes

    The Castle Of Cagliostro: Double Play (Blu-ray)

    9 / 10
    1 vote cast
    Rate this item
    Inline Image

    A Miyazaki classic returns the way it was meant to be seen!
    Certificate: PG
    Running Time: 100 mins
    Retail Price: £24.99
    Release Date:
    Content Type: Movie

    The Castle Of Cagliostro is the first feature film directed by Hayao Miyazaki. Now available for the first time on Blu-ray and in stunning high-definition, the film is also part of the hugely popular Lupin III animated TV series of which Miyazaki had written and directed a number of episodes.

    Here, our iconic super-thief Lupin pulls off a thrilling heist at a Monte Carlo casino, only to discover the spoils are counterfeit. Lupin traces the fake bills to the country of Cagliostro where an evil Count is generating forged money and distributing it worldwide. With partners in tow (including a retired gangster, a modern-day samurai, and a beautiful female thief) Lupin heads to Cagliostro where he also finds a promise of hidden treasure and Clarice, a beautiful Princess in need of rescuing from the Count's dastardly clutches.

    Maintaining the lineage of the Lupin III franchise, Miyazaki also imbues the proceedings with his customary wit and sense of the romantic - Miyazaki's heroes are always ready to come to the aid of a damsel in distress. Moreover, the film is lovingly detailed with the storybook kingdom of Cagliostro being beautifully redolent of the director's equally inspired later works.

    Special Features:
    Picture in Picture Storyboards

    Video Tracks:
    1.85:1 widescreen 1080i

    Audio Tracks:
    DTS-HD MA 5.1 Surround Japanese
    PCM 2.0 mono English
    PCM 2.0 mono Japanese

    Subtitle Tracks:

    Directed By:
    Hayao Miyazaki

    Written By:

    Eiko Masuyama
    Goro Naya
    Kiyoshi Kobayashi
    Makio Inoue
    Yasuo Yamada
    Sumi Shimamoto
    Tarô Ishida
    Ichirô Nagai
    Dorothy Melendrez
    Dougary Grant
    Ivan Buckley
    Richard Epcar
    Sean Barker
    Ruby Marlowe
    Sparky Thornton
    Richard Barnes

    Music From:
    Yuji Ohno

    Director of Photography:
    Hirokata Takahashi

    Masatoshi Tsurubuchi

    Tetsuo Katayama

    Executive Producer:
    Yutaka Fujioka


    Your Opinions and Comments

    Be the first to post a comment!