About This Item

Unique ID Code: 0000000894
Added by: DVD Reviewer
Added on: 9/10/1999 16:37
View Changes

Matrix, The (US)

9 / 10
11 votes cast
Rate this item
Inline Image

Unfortunately, no one can be told what the Matrix is. You have to see it for yourself
Certificate: R
Running Time: 136 mins
Retail Price: $24.98
Release Date:

Synopsis:
Perception: Our day-in, day-out world is real.

Reality: That world is a hoax, an elaborate deception spun by all-powerful machines of artificial intelligence that control us.

Mind-warp stunts, Techno-slammin` visuals, Mega-kick action. Keanu Reeves and Laurence Fishburne lead the flight to free humankind in The Matrix, the see-and-see-again cyberthriller written and directed by the Wachowski brothers (Bound). The Story sears, the special effects stake out new moviemaking territory - the movie flat-out rocks.

Special Features:
Behind-the-scenes Making of Documentary
Audio Commentary with:
Actress: Carrie-Anne Moss
Editor: Zach Staenberg
Visual Effects Supervisor
Special Effects Documentaries
Alternate Behind-the-Scenes Angles
Music only Audio Track with Commentary
Interactive screenplay
"ARE YOU THE ONE?" Interactive Feature
Special Web Events
Link to Theatrical Website
Links to chat rooms on the Web
Trailers
Original Essays

Video Tracks:
Widescreen Anamorphic 2.35:1

Audio Tracks:
Dolby Digital 5.1 English

Subtitle Tracks:
CC: English

Directed By:
Larry Wachowski
Andy Wachowski

Written By:


Starring:
Keanu Reeves
Carrie-Anne Moss
Joe Pantoliano
Laurence Fishburne

Casting By:
Shauna Wolifson
Mali Finn

Soundtrack By:
Don Davis

Editor:
Zach Staenberg

Costume Designer:
Kym Barrett

Production Designer:
Owen Paterson

Producer:
Richard Mirische
Dan Cracchiolo
Joel Silver
Carol Hughes

Executive Producer:
Andy Wachowski
Barrie M. Osborne
Bruce Berman
Larry Wachowski
Erwin Stoff
Andrew Mason

Distributor:
Warner Bros

Your Opinions and Comments

9 / 10
Good
posted by Mikey Roberts on 1/12/1999 17:42
10 / 10
Content

Its all there and more besides - was the Matrix made for DVD or DVD for the Matrix.

Video

This is the DVD which killed off Video for good.

Audio

Play it loud and it will blow your brains out - fantastic.

Features

Loads of them and all amazing!

Overall

This is one of the best Sci-fi films ever made. Great SFX and a very plausible story supported by a good cast and Director.
Just buy it you won`t be disappointed
posted by johnnyrotten on 12/12/1999 22:12
10 / 10
WOW - That`s pretty much all I can say about the Matrix.
It`s a movie that will blow your mind and leave you dribbling and begging for more. This movie is exactly what DVD is made for, and will be singly responsible for selling more DVD players than any other movie to date. Even with all the bad press due to incompatibilty problems it still went straight to number 1 Britain, but here is the full uncut US edition, and it is great, although the only extra footage is about three headbutts, which equals about 10 seconds - but at least it`s there!!
As for picture it`s very good, but not quite perfect, possibly because of the amount crammed onto the disc, but also because of the way it`s been filmed, with the green tint of being inside the Matrix leading to a slightly grainy picture, but it`s more of a fault with the original prints than anything else, and is still an excellent picture.
The sound is absolutely world class, just try the lobby shoot out on chapter 29 for amazing 5.1 surround sound!! - the best yet!
The disc also keeps piling on the extra features, with a decent if somewhat dull audio commentary, a fantastic couple of making ofs and an isolated score. In addition is a feature that really shows the potential DVD has to offer, and that is "follow the white rabbit". On choosing this option you can watch the movie, but during special sequences (mainly the special effects and fighting sequences) a white rabbit icon appears which leads you into one of nine mini making of featurettes giving insights into how the scene was constructed, amazing.
Overall one of the best movies ever placed onto one of the finest DVDs ever produced, what more can you ask for?
posted by Neil Beatson on 27/1/2000 16:30
10 / 10
If you want to convince someone to buy a DVD player show them this movie!

It is on point in everyway possible!
It`s everything a DVD should be!
No Question!

What about scenes that everyone forgets?
Action- Check Out.. `I know Kung fu` ... `Show me!`
Sound! - Listen to bullets sing around you during the shoot-out on the roof when Neo moves like `they` do!
The Squiddies ripping thier way into the Nebuchadnezzar!

The movie your DVD was made for..I s*** you not!
posted by Magnum on 17/7/2000 01:02
10 / 10
Superb Disc for starters. This was the first DVD I bought before the tape version. Extras gallore. And the menu was very impressive even for my english teacher. I only recently watched the Follow The White Rabbit, I never noticed it before. And there is more on the DVD-ROM I couldn`t see yet. Brilliant, top-selling DVD of all time for a reason!
posted by OdinW. on 24/8/2000 02:41
7 / 10
eehhhhhhh alright
posted by Coops on 14/9/2000 01:12
2 / 10
In a word overrated, better print than the uk version.
posted by Richard73 on 17/10/2000 00:36
8 / 10
This was the first film I plonked in the player when my mum brought it back from america and I was impressed, generally.
I dont think I really need to add this review but what the hell. The main problems I had with this disc were not actually with the film itself but more with the way the disc works. I was a bit miffed to see that it shows most of the best bits of the film during the startup to the menu which is a little foolish and could spoil it if you werent familiar with the film ( actually I think everyone has seen this). The second thing was the extra features. I was a bit confused as to why they would put the kung fu documentry,script and things on the DVD-ROM part of the disc so that I couldnt use them. I dont understand why they couldnt have just set it up so that alll the binus material was just presented in the normal way. I wasnt that bothered really as its was only silly bonus stuff.

As im sure all the other reviews say, this is a magical film when it comes to video + audio quality. I was very impressed when I saw the fights again in new crispo-dvd vision. I grinned momentarily.

Another point that raises this version over the region 1 copy is the fact that it is the american edit, rated R for restricted which is roughly an 18 ( the region 2 is a 15). This is because the uk release had 10 seconds of violence removed to lower the rating. It isnt that noticable except in th subway fight as you can see that Neo and Agent Smith headbutt aeach other a few times, which was removed. Also Morpheus headbutts Agent Smith in the crummy building bit.

They really dont like that guy. Racists.
posted by Blazingmonga on 17/11/2000 22:57