Latest Forum Posts

Page 1 of What disqualifies you from jury duty?

General Forum

What disqualifies you from jury duty?

Chris Gould (Elite) posted this on Wednesday, 21st September 2005, 16:02

I`m most unhappy. The Mrs has told me there`s a jury duty summons waiting at home. As a contractor, I can`t see my current employer being too sympathetic to me taking x amount of time off, not to mention the fact that they pay only a fraction of my earnings. How accomodaing are these people when it comes to people who are essentially self-employed, such as myself? What else can disqualify you? Can I ask for it to be deferred until the end of my current contract (currently December 31st)? Right f***ing pain in the arse.

This item was edited on Wednesday, 21st September 2005, 16:03

RE: What disqualifies you from jury duty?

jeffthegun (Elite) posted this on Wednesday, 21st September 2005, 16:21

AFAIK, (same thing happened to my dad a few years ago) you can defer duty or get excused at the descretion of the court if Jury duty will unduly interfere with your job. So it shouldnt be a problem.

Either that or get a job in a protected profession or go out and commit a crime. I would recommend bank fraud :)

All glory to the hypnotoad
What im listening to (if youre interested)

xfg (Elite Donator) posted this on Wednesday, 21st September 2005, 16:24

Say you`re a Christian and you do not feel morally able to sit in judgement of others.

Or say you don`t believe in the presumption of innocence and "They wouldn`t get arrested for nowt innit.".

--

www.soundalikes.com/

bethyblue (Elite) posted this on Wednesday, 21st September 2005, 16:35

From the official website - FAQS and also look at point 11 here. It looks like you could at least be able to get it deferred.

*Edit* that second link doesn`t work :/ Go here and click "Guidance for summoning officers"

This item was edited on Wednesday, 21st September 2005, 16:38